Evil Cast! or, At Last I Am a Comic Book Character

Way back in the spring of 2020, as the world was plunging into COVID, I was a guest on the Humming Fools podcast. With the hosts, Kyle Stuck and Noah Basle, I had a lengthy conversation about a wide-range of topics. A little while later, Kyle reached out to me to share the first couple of issues of a comic he was working on, Evil Cast. A deft mix of horror and comedy, it featured him and Noah as the protagonists of an unfolding supernatural drama. I liked it a great deal. Not long after, Kyle followed up with a joint invitation to myself and Paul Tremblay to make a cameo appearance in an issue of the comic. We both agreed enthusiastically, and before long, Kyle shared our character designs with us:

Art by Enrico Orlandi

When the first six issues were collected in trade paperback form, Kyle very kindly sent me a copy. It’s terrific, and not just because the cameo scene with Paul and myself made me laugh out loud. The first installment of the story left me eager for what’s next; I encourage you to take a look at it. And thanks again to Kyle and the story’s artist, Enrico Orlandi, for making a childhood fantasy come true.

Leave a comment