Syl Disjonk’s Ethereal Chrysalis

At this past Necronomicon, Henrik Moller introduced me to Syl Disjonk and told me I should watch Syl’s short film, Ethereal Chrysalis.  I finally got around to doing so, today.  It’s an impressive piece.  I was struck by all that Syl was able to accomplish in such a short amount of time.  He describes the film as Lovecraftian, which I suppose it is, but I think it’s the Lovecraft of the dream stories–or it may be the dramatization of those semi-coherent speeches Lovecraft’s characters make after they’ve had their glimpses of the unutterably horrible.  It struck me as sharing the spirit of some of Joe Pulver’s fiction, too.  Take a look for yourself:

Leave a Reply

