Mad Max: Fury Road

So the Honey Badger’s been dying to see this movie since it came out, and I’ve been promising I would accompany him.  Well, today I finally honored that promise, and boy, was it worth it.  In a sense, there’s not much to Mad Max:  Fury Road.  It’s more or less a two hour chase-movie, with a couple of moments for you to catch your breath in.  What there is, though, is a world more fleshed out in its post-apocalyptic, wide-screen, operatic insanity than any of the previous Mad Max films, as well as a roster of incredibly well-acted parts.  About midway through the movie, I found myself thinking, “No matter how this film ends, it’s already brilliant.”  It’s to the film’s credit that it manages to arrive at an ending that’s satisfying because it’s earned.  A lot of the reviews of/commentary on the film have praised its heavy use of practical effects over cgi, but I’m more impressed with the attention paid to its characters.  I don’t know if I’ll make it back to the theater to see this again, but I’d really, really like to.

17) Tripod Max.

One thought on “Mad Max: Fury Road

  1. My thoughts exactly! I don’t see movies twice much these days, but this one still nags at me to go see it again before it leaves the big screen. Your comments on character are spot-on. I’m glad Miller’s doing a couple more of these.

Leave a Reply

